Not About Politics

August 25, 2005 at 10:44 am | Posted in General | Comments Off on Not About Politics

I don’t want to write about politics. I don’t want to write about my Job. I want to write about one of my passions, mountain bike riding. I restarted mountain bike riding last year after a 14 year break. My wife and I purchased new bikes for a vacation in 2004. I ended up remembering how much I loved riding and actually how badly I wanted to race 14 years ago. I discovered the Michigan Mountain Biking Association web site which led me to trails I had never ridden or even knew existed. Of couse I was also drawn to the racing section. I found a local race that was billed as an excellent first time race. I finshed that race on July 18, 2004 exhausted, muddy and totally hooked. The next race I competed in was on August 22, 2004 and was called the Fort Custer Time Trail. In this race, I learned what exhausted really means. I am preparing to compete Fort Custer Time Trial for the second time on August 28, 2005. This year I actually have rides longer than the race under my belt. I have competed in a 40 mile mountain bike race as well as 3 other races. I have done long road rides on my own and have done many trail rides. I also work out nearly daily at Lifetime Fitness in Canton, MI. I am quite excited about this years Fort Custer Race. My preparation has gone well and I am feeling really strong. We will see how well this serves me on what was a very challenging course for me last year. Hopefully I will have good results to report Sunday evening.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

