Where have I been?

February 26, 2006 at 6:25 am | Posted in General | Comments Off on Where have I been?

Wow, it has been a long time since I have actually written something. My new job has kept me very busy. I am on call 24×7 for a week at a time and I do actually get called at anytime. I am not in a life or death importance job, but it can and does directly affect the revenue of my company so they consider it pretty important. Now that I am actually transitioning out of traning mode and into working mode, I feel like what I am doing is contributing something. I now just have to work out the patterns of my life to fit this job. I have to improvise and adapt more. For example, one morning I was 15 minutes into my workout when my pager went off. Once you lose the concentration that gets going that far into a workout, it is hard to stop and get it going again.

The weird thing is that after a month in this job and ending up working out less and not eating as carefully, I have managed to lose 5 pounds. I find that pretty frustrating.

The other fun things that have happend since the last time I wrote was the celebration of my daughter’s seventh birthday. I am so proud of my little girl. It is so amazing that God has give my wife and I such a great gift. It is also quite humbling that God would trust me with the raising of one of his children. It would be very easy for me to commit the sin of pride by taking credit for all of the great things my daughter is and can do. However, I recognize that she is who she is in spite of me, not because of me. God is the one who made her who she is. God just used me, and all of my failings, to raise his beautiful creation. I know that Stephanie has taught me way more about who God is than I can ever hope to teach her.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

